The Leslie Scalapino Award




In memory of Leslie Scalapino, her extraordinary body of work, and her commitment to the community of experimental writing and performance.

The Leslie Scalapino Award recognizes the importance of exploratory approaches and an innovative spirit in writing for performance. It wishes to encourage women writers who are taking risks with the playwriting form by offering the opportunity to gain wider exposure through readings and productions. The award will also seek to increase public awareness for this vibrant contemporary field.

We are looking for a full-length work for live performance by a woman writer with an inquiring approach to language and content.

The Prize:

The winner will receive a $2,500 cash prize, print publication of winning play by Litmus Press, and a staged reading of the piece this October at the The New Ohio Theatre in New York, by Fiona Templeton's company The Relationship.

In subsequent years, the prize will also include the opportunity for a full production by The Relationship or another theatre company.

The Leslie Scalapino Award for Innovative Women Playwrights is funded in part by the Leslie Scalapino–O Books Fund and is administered by The Relationship. Publication of award-winning works will be in collaboration with Litmus Press. For more information about Leslie Scalapino, please visit her website:

Leslie Scalapino

Read about Leslie Scalapino here: Buffalo Authors/Leslie Scalapino




Joyelle McSweeney's "Dead Youth, or The Leaks"

Joyelle McSweeney, Dead Youth or The Leaks

Thank you to everyone who submitted an application for the Leslie Scalapino Award for Innovative Women Playwrights. Stay tuned for the next call for entries.